Lick My Shoes

myothervoices

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It was my first teaching job, and I think I wanted to look cool in front of the cool kids, so I said to this student, Hiro, I think his name was, after he told me he liked hip-hop, that he should listen to DJ Rupture – don’t worry if you haven’t heard of him, Hiro hadn’t either – and he said ok, I will, but the next time I taught him, when I asked if he had, he said, no, he’d looked in Tower Records for something by him, but no luck.

I think I didn’t believe him – he didn’t have the look of someone who’d searched and failed to find, he probably forgot the name as soon as I told him, I wasn’t cool – but I ignored that thought and said, I’ll bring his first album in tomorrow, if you like. You can borrow it and…

View original post 682 more words

One thought on “Lick My Shoes

Leave a Reply

