Text Message

The ‘black hole’ we create for overthinking simple things.

myothervoices

file0001350373434

So I sent this text to Simon saying how I was sick, flu, so I wouldn’t be able to make badminton, but if you want to do something before you leave – he’s off to Canada for a permanent job next month – that’d be great, and I went back to sleep.

But when I woke up, I don’t know why, I had this sudden sort of fear that I hadn’t said do something before you leave, I’d said see you, I want to see you before you leave, when I probably should’ve just gone for meet up, you know, to make it sound more casual, we’ve only known each other for six weeks and barely done anything meaningful together: he’s a temp, he works in a different department. We’ve gone for a beer and lunch, but only after badminton, and we’d only played five, six…

View original post 355 more words

Leave a Reply

